Public Health Caucus

Federal Health Agencies
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (hhs)

HHS is divided into 10 Regions and includes the following 11 Operating Divisions:

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Administration for Community Living (ACL)

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA)

Indian Health Service (IHS)

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

U.S. Department of Defense

Defense Health Agency (DHA)

The bread and butter of public health happens at the state and local levels.  Most states have county or local health departments.  There are 2700 local health departments nationwide.  A few states operate all major public health functions of disease surveillance, prevention, direct care, and more.  Please check with your county or state to learn more about public health on the local level.